Universitario vs Binacional match preview: Let’s end this slump

by J.P. Devetori

Universitario hosts Binacional tonight at the Estadio Monumental with the objective of ending the losing streak that is hurting the cremas. With 3 0-1 losses in a row, Universitario must win at all costs in order to stay alive for a tournament berth. Forget the league championship, the ‘U’ is a long shot from that, a tournament berth is what matters at this point.

The ‘U’ has some advantages heading into tonight’s match. They’re home and they don’t have the players that have been holding the club back in tonight’s roster. Gerson Barreto, the worst player in the club, is not listed due to Compagnucci’s decision in not picking him and Jose Murrugarra and Jose Rugel in the roster tonight. Nelinho Quina, worst defender in the club, is suspended after a yellow card accumulation. Hernan Novick returns to the lineup as well as reserve players Guillermo Larios and Joseph Valladolid called up for tonight. This gives the club some hope but at the same time, anything can happen, good or bad.

Binacional is ahead of the ‘U’ by 3 points (6th place with 10 points) and their top scorer Andy Polar is a player to look after. They defeated the cremas back in March in the Apertura and they would like to sweep them. What hurts the ‘U’ is the lack of creativity when they have possession. They lost 0-1 but they could’ve tied and even win if they would’ve capitalized their chances. This match needs to be the wake up call match for the crema offense.

Kickoff will be at 7pm Peru time (8pm ET, 5pm PT) at the Estadio Monumental.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s