Cienciano vs Universitario match preview: A tough one

by J.P. Devetori

Universitario heads to Cusco for a match vs Cienciano on the crema’s 98th anniversary. The “U” is coming off back to back losses and aim to prevent a third consecutive loss.

Both recent losses came off dumbfounded coaching decisions such as using the incorrect players to start and way-to-late substitutions. And to add fuel to the fire, the player bloopers and miscommunication adds to the losses. The downsides coming into today’s match are the absences of Hernan Novick and Jose Murrugarra from today’s squad list. If the cremas continue to play the same as the last 2 matches, plus the absences of Novick and Murrugarra, then the cards would not be in our favor. Don’t forget that the match is being played in the high elevation city of Cusco.

Cienciano is placed 4th in the Clausura table which means the “U” can never underestimate the Cusco-based club. The “U” needs to be smarter and avoid any crucial mistakes in order to survive in the high-elevated city. Universitario lost last week due to a crucial mistake (Yacob turnover) and the game should’ve ended 0-0. The “U” lacks offensive productivity since Novick and Murrugarra are out, Gerson Barreto and Alfonso Barco are not going to help at all. Every crema needs to mark the Cienciano players in order to keep the score level and must dominate possession.

Anything goes in today’s match vs Cienciano. On the club’s anniversary, Universitario must avoid disappointment and leave Cienciano with a point or a triumph. Kickoff will be at 3:30 Peru time (4:30 ET, 1:30 PT) at Cusco.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s