Univ. Cesar Vallejo vs Universitario match preview: Let’s make it 3 in a row

by J.P. Devetori

Universitario heads to Trujillo for the sweep over Univ. Cesar Vallejo and extend their winning streak to 3 matches. The “U” will be without their star striker Alex Valera for the 2nd consecutive match in a row due to a confusing transfer saga with Al-Fateh. A player that is making his “U” debut is Claudio Yacob.

The “U” needs to strike first in order to build confidence throughout the match. If UCV scores first, then things will be difficult for the “U” to tie and lead due to struggling easily under pressure. The “U” hasn’t won an away match since May 1st vs Atletico Grau. They were the away team vs Univ. San Martin but the match was played at the Estadio Monumental. UCV on the other hand, won their last 2 matches vs ADT and Ayacucho. This is a match that the “U” needs to dominate possession and control the match. Defense needs to keep playing smarter (last match was a great improvement) and players like Quispe and Succar need to step up.

Today’s starting XI are: Jose Carvallo (GK), Ivan Santillan, Nelinho Quina, Federico Alonso, Aldo Corzo (DF), Alfonso Barco, Jordan Guivin, Andy Polo, Rodrigo Vilca, Piero Quispe (MF), Alexander Succar (FW).

Kickoff is at 8pm Peru time (9pm ET, 6pm PT) in Trujillo.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s