Cienciano vs Universitario June 22 match preview: Start the Clausura strong

Cienciano vs Universitario June 22 match preview: Start the Clausura strong

Universitario will start their 2023 Clausura campaign on the road vs Cienciano. With many key players absent tonight, the match is very crucial in order to start the Clausura on the right foot. Winning the Clausura is an important objective for the (U) in order to be a finalist for the 2023 Liga 1 Final.

Liga 1 top goalscorer Alex Valera & veteran goalkeeper Jose Carvallo are inactive due to international duty while Andy Polo & Rodrigo Ureña are inactive due to injury & yellow card accumulation respectively.

Earlier in the month, Universitario signed Edison Flores on a 1-and a half year loan that will keep him thru the centenary year in 2024. Flores won the Copa Libertadores U-20 title with Universitario and is a national team star who played in the 2018 FIFA World Cup for Peru. After several years, “Orejas” Flores is back and will be a key figure for the Clausura campaign. However, he will be inactive for tonight’s match vs Cienciano.

The (U) has played Cienciano a couple times already, both at the MonUmental and resulted in wins. This time tonight is at Cusco with both clubs eyeing on 3 points to start the Clausura strong. Cienciano on the other hand, eyes on revenge for the earlier Liga 1 loss plus the elimination vs the (U) at the Sudamericana.

Kickoff will be at 7pm Peru time (8pm Eastern time, 5pm Pacific time) at Estadio Inca Garcilaso de la Vega.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: