Universitario vs Ayacucho match preview: Perfect opportunity for improvement

by J.P. Devetori

Universitario hosts last-place club Ayacucho in the Estadio Monumental with eyes on 3 points tonight. The “U” defeated Ayacucho last match during the Apertura after being down 0-1 and then Andy Polo debuting and saving the cremas by scoring a brace to win the match. But ever since that match, Polo has not scored a goal. This match is a perfect opportunity for players who haven’t stepped up in awhile like Polo to contribute and win the match tonight.

In the list of call-ups, Hernan Novick returns to maybe play tonight. Despite Novick struggling all season, he can be an important asset on offense. The cremas don’t have anyone good in the centre-mid positions and need more experience there and Novick is perfect for that. Claudio Yacob was the player for that job but his performances are very disappointing. Jordan Guivin and Rodrigo Vilca should also start in the midfield position tonight. Defense need to improve tonight especially against a weak Ayacucho squad. All they need to do is play smarter and not commit any costly turnovers.

Kickoff will be at 7pm Peru time (8pm ET, 5pm PT) at the Estadio Monumental. Match recap will be posted tomorrow and tune in to Lolo Worldwide every Friday on Youtube @crematribune for a match reaction and preview to the Clasico match.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s