Universitario vs Deportivo Municipal match preview: Another revenge match

by J.P. Devetori

Universitario returns home in the Estadio Monumental after a disappointing loss in Trujillo vs UCV. Now the “U” seeks revenge vs Deportivo Municipal after losing to them in the Apertura earlier this year. Can the “U” seek revenge vs their Lima counterparts?

Last match was a complete disaster on the field and off the field. The cremas who played lost focus after conceding an early first half goal and didn’t put any threat to even up the match. Compagnucci has some blame in this match by putting struggling Gerson Barreto to play over Jordan Guivin or Jose Murrugarra (both whom perform better than Barreto) while subbing in his players late in the match and not even debuting Claudio Yacob.

In order to win today, the “U” must not repeat the same mess as last match by scoring first. Playing in front of the home crowd and scoring first always boosts confidence for the “U”. Compagnucci must not use ineffective players like Barreto and Alfonso Barco in the starting XI and this match is the perfect debut opportunity for Claudio Yacob.

Municipal were number 1 in the Apertura table but ended up finished 10th place. In their last 5 matches, Municipal has earned 5 out of 15 possible points. They ended their winless streak last match with a 1-0 victory over ADT.

The list of call ups for today’s match does not include Alex Valera for the 3rd match in a row due to a transfer dispute between the “U” and Al-Fateh. Who knows when the Valera saga will be over.

Kickoff will be at 6pm Peru time (7pm ET, 4pm PT) in the Estadio Monumental.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s