Universitario vs Alianza Lima match preview: Y DALE U!

Universitario vs Alianza Lima match preview: Y DALE U!

by J.P. Devetori

Universitario de Deportes hosts arch rivals Alianza Lima at the Estadio Monumental where the “U” will play in front of a packed house that is over 57,000 fans. As we arrive in the midpoint matchday of the Liga 1 Apertura (matchday 10), the “U” must win this match in order to be 1 game behind 1st place team Cienciano where they lead the table with 21 points (the “U” currently has 16 points).

This match finally has everyone (except Luis Urruti) healthy and on the starting lineup. A healthy and loaded Universitario brings danger to opponents but the “U” needs to focus on one simple thing today: dominate possession. If we conquer possession and create as many scoring plays as we can, then today should be a win. The “U” lacked that every match since February and the last two matches the cremas struggled so much in the first half that they were lucky enough to bounce back in the second half. This is a match that the “U” must dominate from start to finish. With all the important and key starts healthy in the starting lineup and playing in front of passionate fans at the majestic Estadio Monumental, the “U” has the cards in their favor today.

Today’s potential lineup: Carvallo (GK); Corzo, Alonso, Quina, Santillan (DF); Barreto, Cayetano, Quispe, Novick (MF); Valera, Polo (FW)

Kickoff is at 3pm Peru time (4pm ET, 1pm PT). There will be a post match recap tomorrow and a match reaction/thoughts on the Lolo Worldwide Podcast on the CremaTribune Youtube channel. Y DALE U!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s